How To End Sleepless Nights

Jimmy Moncrief
2 min readDec 23, 2020

I have 5 kids and sleep great every night. Mostly.

This is not an accident. My wife and I have experimented a lot and have came away with some very surprising things that have increased the quality of our sleep.

Darkness

Black-out curtains help tremendously for this. My wife and I used to love getting a room at the bottom of a cruise boat with no windows because it is complete darkness.

Electronics

If you have electronics in your bedroom make sure your cell-phones are on airplane mode. Additionally, make sure all those little lights on TV’s and other accessories are covered up with black tape.

Wi-Fi

This is the most surprising and important thing we have done for our sleep. Turn-off the wi-fi! I know this sounds weird, but we never tell our guest that we turn the wi-fi off and they all experience great sleep.

Alcohol

I’m sure you have been told this but you experience a deeper sleep without alcohol. You also probably won’t have to get up an pee in the middle of the night. Avoid alcohol for 3 hours before bed. See sources below for brain activity on alcohol versus non-alcohol.

http://erj.ersjournals.com/content/16/5/909.short
http://www.amjmed.com/article/0002-9343%2881%2990124-8/abstract?cc=y=

Weighted Blanket

--

--